Welcome to 2017

Standard

The first post of a new blog at the very beginning of a brand new year.  It’s not the easiest thing to write, that’s for sure.  But basically what I want to do here is say “Hi” and welcome you to my new venture with a quick introduction to what you can expect from my waffling, wittering and wonderings throughout 2017 and (hopefully) beyond.

As a teen I loved to write, in my twenties I love to write and in my thirties I loved to write.  But guess what?  I never did anything about it.  Then a few years ago I started up a little blog about a classic 80s British comic, originally just a silly and fun thing to do every fortnight but it grew into something I never expected: a successful venture which rekindled my passion for writing again!

welcome2017oink

Now I’ve seen myself published on a top UK comics site, I’m in the preliminary stages of a book project about the very same subject, then in the world of retro computing I’ve seen myself published in book and fanzine form, while a website has also asked me to be a regular reviewer.

With the start of that book came a realisation that I can make something of this and that’s led to this blog.

I became more interested in the blogosphere recently and, thanks to a fellow blogger whose site I’ll introduce soon, I got an insight into the world of personal lifestyle blogging.  It intrigued me but I struggled at first to see what I could bring to it, but in the end it suddenly clicked in my head.  There may be a wealth of fashion, beauty, food and travel blogs but the best and most successful (both popularity-wise and in their content) seem to be those which cover a variety of personal aspects of the writer’s life, while maintaining the main focus front-and-centre.

welcome2017jaws

So here I am at the very beginning of a very personal journey into the lifestyle blogging of a wannabe freelance writer.  I hope you’ll join me for the ride.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to 2017

    • HI Dave! Wow, it’s a pleasure! It never fails to excite me when an Oink! contributor gets in touch and you certainly contributed one of the most memorable pages for my young self with your Transformers spoof. Really glad you liked the posts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

